Team

Our History

In December 2016 Julian and Julia founded the Netzwerk Kriminologie Berlin  to promote an interdisciplinary exchange between young scientists in their field. In 2017, Julian spent six months in New York City, where he worked as a volunteer for the grassroots organization CCFY  in projects to support young people involved with the criminal justice system. The civil society involvement and the sustainable support that was provided for those affected by the justice system inspired him deeply and so he returned to Berlin with the idea of building something similar in Germany. His colleagues Anna Kroupa and Julia Wegner also recognized the need for innovative, evidence-based education, counselling and rehabilitation projects inside and outside of prisons in Germany and so, they founded the independent non-profit association Tatort Zukunft e.V. in May 2018.

You can find our statutes here.

Julian Knop

Chairman

Julian holds a doctorate in criminology from the Department of Law at Freie Universität Berlin. In his research, he examines the spread and impact of overnight or prolonged family visiting in the German juvenile justice system. He is a visiting lecturer at the School of Economics and Law, the Free University of Berlin and the Berlin-Brandenburg Juvenile Detention Centre. He gained experience as a volunteer at the grassroots organization Community Connections for Youth in New York City and the Berlin Juvenile Correctional Facility.

Julia Wegner

Deputy Chairwoman

Julia holds a degree in law, is a research assistant and doctoral candidate under Prof. Dr. Drenkhahn at the Department of Law at the Free University of Berlin. She is a lecturer at the Department of Police and Security Management at the Berlin School of Economics and Law and a former member of the youth welfare service in criminal proceedings. Together with Julian she founded the Netzwerk Kriminologie Berlin in December 2016.

Anna Kroupa

Treasurer

Anna holds a degree in law and is an employee of the Helmut Ziegner Foundation. She works as an external staff member at the juvenile detention centre in Berlin and is a voluntary prison assistant at Tegel Prison. Previously, she worked as a research assistant in the field of pedagogy/education development research in the DaQuas project at the Free University of Berlin.

Peter Mercer

Project Development

Peter holds an M.A. in Modern European History from the Humboldt University of Berlin. His research focused on economic policy issues and sociological questions of social inequality. In his political work and as a research assistant at the University he gained experience in the areas of fundraising, campaign strategy and project development. At Tatort Zukunft he develops the association's programmatic orientation and external presentation.

Anja Loft-Akhoondi

Project Development

Anja is a communications manager and is pursuing her doctorate at the Humboldt University of Berlin. Her research focuses on the implementation of inclusive education concepts in the German education system. She is an external staff member for the German Institute for Human Rights and works for Tatort Zukunft on strengthening human rights education in the German prison system.

Riley Doyle Evans

Policy and Advocacy

Riley holds an LL.M. in International Human Rights and Humanitarian Law from the European University Viadrina. In his research and professional career, he has focused on the conditions and consequences of solitary confinement. In New York City, he worked as Head of Jail Services and Advocacy at Brooklyn Defender Services and as Senior Litigation Assistant at the non-profit Prison Law Office in California.

Lisa-Manju Speck

Scientific Evaluation

Lisa holds an M.Sc. in psychology with a specialization in community psychology. In addition to her work as a clinical neuropsychologist at the Protestant Johannesstift Berlin, she supports Tatort Zukunft to maintain scientific standards in the design and evaluation of programs.

Judith Höllmann

Volunteer Coordination

Judith has a German-French double Masters degree in sociology and cultural studies. During her studies in Lyon, she focused in particular on the sociology of crime. She supports Tatort Zukunft with volunteer coordination, drawing on her experience from working with other volunteer associations in Germany and France.

Marie Langner

Voluntary Support

Marie studies law at the Free University of Berlin. She completed her specialization in juvenile criminal law, prison law and criminology. She participated at the project "University in Prison" twice. She supports Tatort Zukunft as a volunteer.

Torsten "Hamza"

Credible Messenger

Hamza supports Tatort Zukunft in its mission to promote a fair, humane and effective response to crime. He was imprisoned in Berlin prisons for a total of more than seven years and, as a person directly affected, he can credibly convey to the association what helped him, what would have helped him and what challenges and conflicts he had to overcome. Through his expertise and experience, he contributes to finding sustainable solutions for relevant problems inside and outside the prison.

This could show your name

You can imagine to actively shape the future of our organization Tatort Zukunft? We are happy about every initiative!

Scientific Advisory Board

Our team includes Prof. Dr. Kirstin Drenkhahn and Prof. Dr. Heinz Cornel, two renowned criminologists who advise our association as scientific advisors.

Prof. Dr. Kirstin Drenkhahn, Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Heinz Cornel, Scientific Advisory Board

Team

Unsere Geschichte

Im Dezember 2016 gründeten Julian und Julia das Netzwerk Kriminologie  Berlin, um einen interdisziplinären Austausch zwischen jungen Wissenschaftler*innen in ihren Fachbereichen zu fördern. In 2017 verbrachte Julian ein halbes Jahr in New York City, wo er als Freiwilliger bei der Graswurzelorganisation CCFY  in Projekten der Straffälligenhilfe mitarbeitete. Das zivilgesellschaftliche Engagement und die nachhaltige Hilfe, die für Betroffene des Justizsystems geleistet wurde, inspirierte ihn nachhaltig und so kehrte er mit der Idee nach Berlin zurück, etwas Vergleichbares in Deutschland aufzubauen. Seine Kolleginnen Anna Kroupa und Julia Wegner erkannten ebenfalls den Bedarf für innovative, evidenzbasierte Bildungs- Beratungs- und Resozialisierungsprojekte inner- und außerhalb des Gefängnisses in Deutschland und so gründeten sie im Mai 2018 den unabhängigen und gemeinnützigen Verein Tatort Zukunft e.V.

Unsere Satzung finden Sie hier .

Julian Knop

Vorsitzender

Julian ist promovierender Kriminologe am Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin. In seiner Forschungsarbeit untersucht er die Verbreitung und Wirkung von Langzeitbesuchen im deutschen Jugendstrafvollzug. Er ist Lehrbeauftragter an der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht, der Freien Universität Berlin und der Jugendarrestanstalt Berlin-Brandenburg. In ehrenamtlicher Tätigkeit sammelte er Erfahrungen bei der Graswurzelorganisation Community Connections for Youth in New York City und der Jugendstrafanstalt in Berlin.

Julia Wegner

Stellvertretende Vorsitzende

Julia ist Diplom-Juristin, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin bei Frau Prof. Dr. Drenkhahn am Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie ist Lehrbeauftragte am Fachbereich Polizei und Sicherheitsmanagement der Hochschule für Wirtschaft und Recht Berlin und ehemalige Mitarbeiterin der Jugendhilfe im Strafverfahren. Gemeinsam mit Julian gründete sie im Dezember 2016 das Netzwerk Kriminologie Berlin.

Anna Kroupa

Schatzmeisterin

Anna ist Diplom-Juristin und Mitarbeiterin der Universal-Stiftung Helmut Ziegner. Sie arbeitet als externe Mitarbeiterin in der Jugendstrafanstalt Berlin und ist ehrenamtliche Vollzugshelferin in der JVA Tegel. Zuvor arbeitete sie als Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin des Arbeitsbereichs Schulpädagogik/ Schulentwicklungsforschung im Projekt DaQuas der Freien Universität Berlin.

Peter Mercer

Fundraising

Peter hat einen M.A. in Moderner Europäischer Geschichte von der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In seinem Studium beschäftigte er sich mit wirtschaftspolitischen Themen und soziologischen Fragestellungen zu sozialer Ungleichheit. In seiner politischen Tätigkeit und als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Universität Wuppertal sammelte er Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Fundraising, Kampagnenstrategie und Projektentwicklung. Bei Tatort Zukunft entwickelt er die programmatische Ausrichtung und Außendarstellung des Vereins.

Anja Loft-Akhoondi

Projektentwicklung

Anja ist Kommunkationswirtin und promoviert an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Umsetzung inklusiver Bildungskonzepte in das deutsche Bildungssystem. Sie ist als externe Mitarbeiterin für das Deutsche Institut für Menschenrechte tätig und arbeitet für Tatort Zukunft an der Stärkung der Menschenrechtsbildung im deutschen Justizvollzugssystem.

Riley Doyle Evans

Politische Kampagnenarbeit

Riley hat einen LL.M. in International Human Rights and Humanitarian Law von der Europa Universität Viadrina. In seiner Forschung und beruflichen Karriere beschäftigte er sich mit den Bedingungen und Konsequenzen der Isolationshaft. In New York City arbeitete er als Head of Jail Services and Advocacy bei Brooklyn Defender Services und als Senior Litigation Assistant beim gemeinnützigen Prison Law Office in Kalifornien.

Lisa-Manju Speck

Wissenschaftliche Evaluation

Lisa hat einen M.Sc. in Psychologie mit einer Spezialisierung in Gemeinschaftspsychologie. Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als klinische Neuropsychologin am Evangelischen Johannesstift Berlin unterstützt sie den Tatort Zukunft dabei, bei der Konzeption und Evaluierung von Programmen wissenschaftliche Standards einzuhalten.

Judith Höllmann

Organisation ehrenamt. Unterstützung

Judith hat einen deutsch-französischen Doppelmaster in Soziologie und Kulturwissenschaften. Während ihres Studiums in Lyon hat sie sich insbesondere mit Themen der Kriminalsoziologie beschäftigt. Tatort Zukunft unterstützt sie ehrenamtlich mit ihren Erfahrungen aus der Vereinsarbeit in Deutschland und Frankreich.

Marie Langner

Ehrenamtliche Unterstützung

Marie studiert Rechtswissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie hat ihren Schwerpunktsbereich in Jugendstrafrecht, Strafvollzugsrecht und Kriminologie absolviert und zweimal an der Uni im Vollzug teilgenommen. Tatort Zukunft unterstützt sie ehrenamtlich bei der Recherchearbeit.

Torsten "Hamza"

Berater

Hamza unterstützt den Tatort Zukunft in der Mission, einen gerechten, humanen und effektiven Umgang mit Kriminalität zu fördern. Er war insgesamt mehr als sieben Jahre in Berliner Gefängnissen inhaftiert und kann dem Verein als direkt Betroffener glaubhaft vermitteln, was ihm geholfen hat, was ihm geholfen hätte und welche Herausforderungen und Konflikte er zu bewältigen hatte. Durch seine Expertise und Erfahrung trägt er dazu bei, nachhaltige Lösungen für relevante Probleme im und außerhalb des Gefängnisses zu finden.

Hier könnte Dein Name stehen

Du kannst Dir vorstellen, die Zukunft unseres Vereins Tatort Zukunft e.V. aktiv mit zu gestalten? Wir freuen uns über jede Kontaktaufnahme!

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

Zu unserem Team zählen mit Prof. Dr. Kirstin Drenkhahn und Prof. Dr. Heinz Cornel renommierte Kriminolog*innen, die unserem Verein als wissenschaftlicher Beirat beratend zur Seite stehen.

Prof. Dr. Kirstin Drenkhahn